On February 21, 2014 Millbrook First Nation went to the polls to elect their Chief and Council. All of the current Chief and Council were nominated to run again and 11 of them returned to their former positions. However this term also saw two new comers; Linda (Cookie) Maloney (255) and Natasha Bernard (259) were elected to Council.

Returning to his position was Chief Bob Gloade who received 338 votes beating his opponents Steve Marshall Sr (301), Jack Paul (30) and James Howe sr. (29).

Also returning to Council were Colin Bernard, (266), Adrian Gloade (295), Vernon Gloade (262), Bryan Brooks (244), Peter Gloade (307), Alex Cope (276), Barry Martin Sr. (286), Ward Markie (233), Gordon Johnson (244), and Chris Nasson (303).

Out of a possible 1263 voters, 57 % of the community voted which was a bit lower than the last election but still a high rate as far a voter turnout is concerned.

Barry Gloade (215) and Lloyd Johnson (220) were the two council member that did not retain their position.

It was a very close election for the final spot, only a few votes separated the last few candidates with Mary Martha (Mali) Sylliboy received 231 votes and Michael Stephens right behind her with 229 votes.

The election was conducted by Tricia Fultz of The Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq. The new council will be sworn in on March 11/2014. Congratulations to everyone.

To view the full story, you must be a subscriber. Click here for information on how to subscribe.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,