FREDERICTON – The provincial government has signed a memorandum of understanding with seven First Nation communities respecting First Nations education and the calls to action as set out by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

“Your government supports the promotion of First Nations perspectives, language, history and culture in our provincial curriculum,” said Education and Early Childhood Development Minister Brian Kenny. “This memorandum of understanding means we will continue to work toward achieving our goals through a sharing of resources and expertise.”

The memorandum recognizes that First Nations have a right to practise their language and culture, and to fully participate socially and economically in society without discrimination or prejudice. It also recognizes that the calls to action as set out by the commission have been accepted by Canada’s premiers through the Council of the Federation, and also by the federal government.

The provincial government and Three Nations Education Group (representing Tobique, Elsipogtog and Esgenoôpetitj First Nations), Madawaska First Nation, Kingsclear First Nation, Oromocto First Nation, and St. Mary’s First Nation will partner to develop and promote First Nations curriculum and learning opportunities to contribute to the goal of reconciliation.

“We are pleased to partner with the Province of New Brunswick in this initiative to continue including treat ...

To view the full story, you must be a subscriber. Click here for information on how to subscribe.